Bet Number 2 (Updated 9/3/2011 3:34 PM)

Posted: September 3, 2011 in NCAAF Gambling
Tags: , , , , , ,

I was going to hold off on college football action until bowl season since that is usually where I have my success, but like with my Patriots preseason bet I do make exceptions with the teams I know the best. The college football team I know best is the Boston College Eagles if you haven’t figured that out yet by my home-team bias.

I am not very optimistic about a young BC team for this season, and I am particularly not high on the offense until 2010 First Team All-ACC running back Montel Harris returns from injury. The Eagles have offensive line issues this year as well, especially trying to replace tackle Anthony Costanzo who was selected in the first round of the NFL draft this year. I also think the defense has some issues this year.

BC opens the seasons against an underrated Northwestern University Wildcat team that returns 16 seniors from last  year’s team. The major story of today’s game is Northwestern playing without Heisman Candidate and reigning First Team All-Big 10 quarterback Dan Persa. With Persa, I may have considered betting against my Eagles. Without Persa, I am now liking under 45 (listed at -115). Even without Harris, I look for BC to play their typical clock control game and the defense should have enough strength especially with the best linebacker in the country that nobody talks about, Luke Kuechly, stepping into a leadership role this season.

Since I am going against my own rules of holding off on college football and the fact that so many things can happen so early in the season I am going to play it safe and only put $57.50 down to win $50. As the season goes on and I build a bigger bankroll, the bet amounts will increase for those expecting more excitement!

UPDATE (9/3/2011 3:34 PM) – The under covers by 4 points after a hectic final drive by BC stalled at the Northwestern 24. Great performance by Dan Persa’s temporary replacement, Kain Colter. I’m now 2-0, up $150. Stay tuned in case I lose my discipline and take any other action throughout the day.

Leave a Reply

