2012 NFL Season Kickoff

Posted: September 5, 2012 in NFL Gambling
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Image

Photo: SportingNews

It’s been 212 days since we’ve had a meaningful NFL game to watch. The winner of that game opens up the 2012 season at home against division rival Dallas Cowboys. The Giants took both games last year and more importantly won the Super Bowl while the Cowboys watched the playoffs for the third time in the last four seasons.

Expectations are high for the returning champs but things have been relatively quiet in terms of the hype surrounding America’s Team. While the normal hype surrounding the Cowboys isn’t there this year, I am bullish on the Cowboys this year ad expect the offense to be pretty explosive.

Both teams are pretty beat up coming into the season with big names like Hakeem Nicks and Jason Witten both questionable for tonight’s game. The Giants have been known to be slow starters in recent years. Many people already forget that there were rumors of Tom Coughlin’s firing midway through last season. That being said, I like the Cowboys getting 4 (-110) points and I also like under 45.5 (-110). I will be taking both for $55 each.

In terms of future bets for this year, I expect the Patriots will again exceed their total (12 wins at even money), I am a little worried about that shaky offensive line and not sure I want to lay down a large bet like last year. I really like the Chiefs to win more than 8 games (+140), Jaguars under 5 wins (+140), and the Buccaneers over 6 wins (-130). I won’t be taking any of these this year since I am trying to do a better job limiting my risk this year. There are too many variables that come into play with these season long bets.

Leave a Reply

